## BY ASHISH GARG ('97 INSTRU) BITSAA Silicon Valley Elections

BITSAA Silicon Valley becomes the first BITSAA chapter in US to elect executives through a democratic process.

BITSAA Silicon Valley Chapter (SVC) has come a long way since its inception about six years ago. What started out as a small gathering of the 1975 batch and friends for a Millennium Party in 2000 has now grown to be one of the biggest BITSAA chapters in the world. Silicon Valley being the centre for technology and innovation, BITSAA Silicon Vallev is home to a number of highly successful and well-known BITSians like Vivek Paul, Prem Jain, Naveen Jain, Thampy Thomas, Prof Krishna Saraswat and may more The BITSConnect project

that started out as a project to wire the BITS Pilani campus and ended up becoming a movement that connected thousands of BITSians around the world for a common cause also had its roots in the Silicon Valley.

Thanks to the efforts of the founding President of BITSAA Silicon Valley, Jayan Ramankutty, the chapter framed a constitution (aka by-laws) and received a US Government nonprofit 501c3 status last year. The by-laws lay down the rules and regulations for the functioning

## **BITSAA Silicon Valley Chapter**

Website: www.bitsaa-svc.org

To Join the Mailing List go to: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/bits-svc/

## Founded in: 2000

Current Members: 250 (Registered) 802 (On mailing list)

President:	Chandra Bhople ('74 EEE & MMS)
	cbhople@gmail.com
Secretary:	Ashish Garg ('97 Instru)
	gargyboy@yahoo.com
CFO:	Amit Khetan ('94 Eco & CS)
	arkhetan@yahoo.com

## **Board of Directors:**

Jayan Ramankutty Deepu Rathi Prem Jain Roop Jain Satish Gupta Vinod Agarwal

to the chapter including the administration of a democratic process for election of new Executive and Board of Directors.

**Deepu Rathi (Secretary, BITSAA SVC) and Nachiket Deshpande ('92 Phy & CS)** led the Election Commission that elected the following executive board for the year 2006-2007.

- President: Chandra Bhople ('74 EEE & MMS)
- Secretary: Ashish Garg ('97 Instru)

 Chief Financial Officer: Amit Khetan ('94 Eco & Computer Science)